Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Koç School Libraries: About us

Purpose

To be a modern, innovative and pioneer learning center that gives the opportunity for lifelong-learning, ethical, information literate individuals to realize themselves. 

Goal

The mission of our libraries is to provide information resources that will support the academic, social and cultural improvement of all individuals composing the school community, to encourage these people to read, to offer quality information services that make it possible for them to improve their lifelong learning competences through information literacy and academic honesty trainings.

Our Library Studies

The Koç School Libraries are learning centers that enable lifelong-learning, ethical individuals to have information literacy and to realize themselves in accordance with the mission and vision of the school. Our libraries not only provide information resources that will support the academic, social and cultural improvement of all individuals composing the school community, but also encourage these people to read, offer quality information services that make it possible for them to improve their lifelong learning competences through information literacy and academic honesty trainings.

There are three libraries on campus, in primary, middle and high school, with a quality print and electronic publication collection. These libraries where competent information and document management specialists are employed serve their users with their technological hardware and spatial design suitable for individual and group studies.

Offering resources and information services to our students at K12 level, academic and administrative staff, our libraries carry on their activities as an important component of the education environment.

Collection

We have a print and electronic publication collection which includes information resources in various languages, topics, types and formats and has been created since 1993 by considering the diversity of the national and international education programs of The Koç School. The print materials are cataloged according to the Destiny library automation program DEWEY Decimal Classification System and offered to the users through the open shelf system and web catalog.

Composed of over 4000 e-books, 7000 e-magazines and newspapers, digital encyclopedia and article data bases, our electronic publications collection is open to our users’ access for 24/7.  Our collection includes Encyclopedia Britannica, Sora (electronic book collection), Sayısal Kitap (Turkish electronic book collection) and PressReader (digital magazine and newspapers) data bases.  Moreover, our students are offered Noodletools subscriptions that enable them to organize the information resources they use in their research processes, to follow the academic honesty principles and to create a bibliography in line with international citation formats.

Providing an opportunity to access current, reliable and quality information by following the developing world and changing information technologies, our rich print and electronic publications collection continues its development in a wide range by meeting the requests and needs of our students, teachers and all stakeholders.

User Services

In addition to reading culture projects for developing the habit and pleasure of reading, presentations on information literacy and academic honesty training, trainings on how to access print and electronic information resources and efficiently use them, class activities that support national and international curriculum, interdisciplinary studies are conducted with the entire school community in the areas of projects, exhibitions and thesis writing  as required by the MoNE and IB education programs.

You may visit our library website to access the efficient information services and resources provided by adapting to face-to-face education processes at the school and/or distance education processes. 

Service Hours

Week Days (Friday excluded): 08.00- 16.00

Friday: 08.00 – 14.00

As our libraries are closed during the distance education process, our resources can be accessed through our website 24/7. Our information and document specialists conduct their reading activities and training presentations online and work to meet the user needs as soon as possible via electronic e-mail.